Train to Machu Picchu – Ollantaytambo – Cusco | Peru Rail | Deals | Perurail

Notice: New train departures from San Pedro and Poroy stations

All you need to know about the Inca culture

If you talk about Cusco, you cannot fail to mention the culture that was able to build enigmatic constructions and be an ancient civilization that united much of South America, expanding itself through Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador and Colombia. The Inca culture was the most important in Peru, originally from Cusco (also known as “navel of the world”), it’s great empire began in 1438 and ended in 1535 approximately.

The Inca culture was a very advanced civilization and was led by 13 Incas, who were in charge of governing a people divided into social classes. Quechua was the official language and its main god was the Sun. It was very common to see gold objects as accessories on the governor’s’ garments, they used it for decorative reasons and not as currency, as they did not have price for them.

The Inca Empire begins with the territorial expansion known as Tahuantinsuyo (translated from Quechua into Spanish means “the four parts”) and it was divided into: Contisuyo, Chinchaysuyo, Antisuyo and Collasuyo. Its capital was the city of Cusco, main place for the political management.

Politics and society: The Thirteen Incas

The Incas possessed the best political and administrative system of South America, they had a dual power, which was divided into two dynasties: Hanan (above) Cusco, commanded by purely military actions and Hurin (below) Cusco, mostly linked to the religious. The governors were considered divine; having titles like lord Inca or sapa Inca, which means “divine Inca” and “unique Inca”.

Next, know the list of the 13 Incas that ruled the Inca Empire.

Legendary Empire (Curacazgo): It was the local phase and was in charge of Manco Cápac, Sinchi Roca, Lloque Yupanqui, Mayta Capac, Capac Yupanqui, Inca Roca and Yahuar Huáca, Hiracocha Inca.

Historical empire (Tahuantinsuyo): Belonged to the expansion phase and its leaders were Pachacútec, Tupac Yupanqui, Huayna Capac, Huáscar and Atahualpa.

Religion: A polytheistic culture

The Incas were polytheists and had as gods Viracocha (ordinator god), Inti (Sun), Pachamama (mother earth), Apus (spirit of the mountains), Cochamama (goddess of the sea), Pachacámac (god of earthquakes), among others.

Economy: The exchange of goods

Inca culture believed in barter as a form of payment that consisted of exchanging one thing for another. In addition, they were experts in agriculture, being their main activity, among their main crops are corn, potatoes, cotton and coca.

Architecture: The spiritual power of stones

People believed that the stones had a spiritual power and for this reason the Incas worshiped them. Their techniques were autochthonous and the large blocks were linked together, without any kind of amalgam. Among its great examples of architecture are: the stone of the 12 angles, Sacsayhuamán, Koricancha, Machu Picchu, Pisac, among others.

The Inca culture left a great architectural and historical legacy. Every corner of Cuzco represents the customs, traditions and practices of the ancestors that still remain in force.

Know its millennial past and what was left by the great Inca culture visiting Cusco!

Scroll to Top